Strengthening my connection to me….

cropped-cropped-11140052_10204697874699906_1638866767955803469_n.jpg

From about the age of 3yrs old I have memories of how my mother used rongoa Maori (maori medicine) in everyday life.
She used to keep bottles of sea water in the wardrobe which would come out for important karakia (incantation).
And I also remember going on adventures into the bush with my dad to retrieve the various plants my mum requested for healing.

When I was about 7 or 8yrs old I vividly remember going up into the bush on my own and collecting the leaves of various native plants, taping them inside my book and labelling them with their name, where I found them and what they were used for.

The ocean played a huge part in our lives too from providing us kai but also healing.
When I look back now to those moments in time I realize they were all lessons.
It’s little wonder I was so attracted to these essential oils at a time in my life that I really needed them.
I’ve always acknowledged our connection to nature because I have witnessed it from a child and seen the amazing things that can happen.
But like most as we grow older and get caught up in that daily grind and hustle and move away to “better ourselves” we slowly close our senses off to that connection.

It’s as though right here tonight I have had an epiphany and can feel the huge responsibility as a Maori to ensure the integrity of rongoa by using ‘correct tikanga’ when working with wairua (spirit) and connecting to the plant, which is the key to potentising its effectiveness.

12002774_624432734363460_5615255805339981728_n
I have been using the essential oils for the past 6 months now and the impact it has had on my own healing (torn Achilles) and whanau health has been huge.  I also use them for preparation with my training and getting me in the zone and focused.
I love how it has given me the ability to take responsibility and control over the little things I would usually run off to the doctor for.
I spent years attaining my degree and post grad studying about the human body and what makes it tick inside and out and right now I feel I have finally connected the dots.

What I know now for sure is that it’s not my identity I lost, it was my connection to it.  Pressures of society on how to be made me feel like I had to shut it out.
I am going to share what tools I have used and continue to use in my daily self care/wellness including karakia, exercise, good food, essential oils, and taonga because they all contribute to improving and maintaining my hauora (well-being).
In the meantime if you want to know more about essential oils or other strategies I have used to take back control of my wellness take up my 30min complimentary strategy offer where we can see if we are a good fit and if I have the solution for you.

https://calendly.com/hiriarolleston/30min/04-11-2017

As always, much appreciation for following my journey,

 

Hiria x

Leave a Reply

